E3 2020 Replacement Event Schedule: PS5 Tomorrow And All The Confirmed Events So Far

Like many other live events scheduled to take place this year, E3 2020 has been canceled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. This marks the first time in the expo’s 20-plus-year history that a physical event will not take place in June, but there will still be plenty of gaming news and announcements to look forward to over the next few months. In fact, with companies spreading their announcements out over a longer stretch of time, you won’t have to race to catch everything in a week’s time and can watch everything without issue. Some of these events have even been bumped past their previously-scheduled dates. This includes a World of Warcraft: Shadowlands reveal, which has been moved from June 9 to an undetermined future date.

Although the ESA–the company that organizes E3–will not hold a digital alternative to E3 itself, a number of game publishers have announced they’ll be hosting their own events and showcases over the summer. Microsoft, Ubisoft, Limited Run Games, and Devolver Digital are among the companies that have expressed intentions to follow this route. Microsoft has announced a monthly series of streams called Xbox 20/20, with July’s focusing on first-party Xbox Series X titles, while Ubisoft will hold a Ubisoft Forward digital event on July 12. Sony is even using June to finally show off its lineup of PS5 games, despite dropping out of E3 before the event itself was even canceled. This could also be the first time we actually see the console, though that has not been confirmed as of yet. Following a delay, Sony’s PS5 event has been rescheduled for June 11.

EA will also host its own showcase in June. The company is transforming its annual EA Play event into a digital experience this year. The event kicks off on Thursday, June 18, and will give viewers a look at some of the publisher’s upcoming titles, including FIFA 21, Madden NFL 21, and NHL 21. It was delayed past its initial June 11 date because of ongoing racial justice protests.

E3 2020 News & Announcements

  • Remembering E3's Biggest Moments And Announcements
  • E3 2020 Officially Canceled
  • E3 2020 May Live On As An "Online Experience"
  • E3 2021 Is Still Happening Next Year

Nintendo typically airs a Nintendo Direct presentation ahead of E3 every June, but that may not be the case this year. Reports have circulated that the company will be delaying its annual June Direct due to “complications” that have arisen from the COVID-19 pandemic. Nintendo itself has not made any official announcements yet, but these reports say the Direct is expected to air “late in the summer.” Meanwhile, Square Enix says it will hold individual game announcements rather than a big E3-style event.

Beyond game publishers, a number of other digital gaming events will be taking place this year. The Game Awards host Geoff Keighly has announced the Summer Game Fest, which will run from May to August and encompass limited-time demos, game reveals, and more. The Guerilla Collective Live event has been pushed to June 13 but a separate event focused on black game creators will be held on Sunday, June 7. GameSpot is also hosting our own multi-week event called Play For All, which will feature gaming news, interviews, and previews while also raising money for COVID-19 relief efforts.

E3 2020 Replacement Events Schedule

June 4

  • PS5 “Future of Gaming” Presentation — 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET [Delayed to undetermined future date]

June 7

  • Guerrilla Collective Black Voices in Gaming — 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET

June 11

  • PS5 Games Reveal Event — 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET

June 13

  • PC Gaming Show
  • Future Games Show
  • Guerrilla Collective Live

June 14

  • Guerrilla Collective Day 2

June 15

  • Guerrilla Collective Day 3

June 16

  • Steam Summer Game Festival — June 16 through June 22

June 18

  • EA Play Live 2020 — 4 PM PT / 7 PM ET

June 23

  • New Game+ Expo — 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET

June 25

  • Cyberpunk 2077 Night City Wire

June 27-28

  • BitSummit Gaiden

July 11

  • Tennocon

July 12

  • Ubisoft Forward — 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET

Source: Read Full Article