Sony Is The First Publisher Ever To Win Game Of The Year Three Years In A Row

For the third year running, a PlayStation-exclusive game has won the most Game of the Year awards.

Among every media outlet that honors games with a Game of the Year award, The Last of us 2 won the overwhelming majority of them. A Resetera thread totaled all of the awards and determined that TLOU2 won 148 GOTY awards, while the runner-up, Hades, won only 36.

Using the same method of totally GOTY awards, TLOU2 follows Death Stranding and God of War as the third PlayStation-exclusive game in a row to win the most GOTY awards.

Not only did TLOU2 take home the top honors at The Game Awards, but it also won Best Game Direction, Best Narrative, Best Audio Design, Innovation in Accessibility, Best Action/Adventure, and Laura Bailey won Best Performance for her role as Abby.

All three games faced steeped competition, but the pattern of repeated wins for PS4 games really speaks to the overall quality of PlayStation games throughout the last console generation. In fact, many of the runner-ups that nearly won GOTY were also PS4 exclusive games, such as Ghost of Tsushima (22 total awards), Horizon Zero Dawn (52 total awards) and Marvel’s Spider-man (16 total awards).

With both the Horizon and God of War sequels coming in 2021, it wouldn’t be surprising to see a PlayStation-exclusive game win the most GOTY awards yet again.

Next: Upcoming 2021 PS5 Exclusives To Look Forward To

  • Game News
  • God of War
  • Death Stranding
  • The Last Of Us Part 2

Eric Switzer is the Livestream News Editor for TheGamer as well as the lead for VR and Tech. He has written about comics and film for Bloody Disgusting and VFXwire. He is a graduate of University of Missouri – Columbia and Vancouver Film School. Eric loves board games, fan conventions, new technology, and his sweet sweet kitties Bruce and Babs. Favorite games include Destiny 2, Kingdom Hearts, Super Metroid, and Prey…but mostly Prey. His favorite Pokémon is Umbreon.

Source: Read Full Article